The buildings of the Albertinum, constructed in the eighteenth century, have known very different usages through the centuries.
First of all a wine merchants and a law school – from which came their first name “the Academy” – these buildings became in the nineteenth century successively a barracks, a military hospital, a girls’ school, then in 1863 the “Grand Hotel of Fribourg and Zaehringen”. They were purchased in 1890 by the Dominicans to establish a theological studium which since then has welcomed professors and students of the Faculty of Theology, founded that same year.

Discover here its history :